Return to Surgical Departments

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Departmental Profile

Each day the department treats approximately 35-40 emergency and elective patients. The surgical procedures performed include:

  • Coronary Artery Surgery (on or off-pump)
  • Cardiac Valve Surgery
  • Minimally Invasive Surgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Pacemakers
  • Defibrillator
  • Bi-Ventricular Pacing
  • TAVI (Trans-catheter Aortic Valve Implantation)
  • Pacing lead extraction
  • Thoracic and Thoracoabdominal Aortic Surgery
  • Mediastinal Surgery

Staff Members

Head of Department

Dr Michael Harden


Surgical Academic Lead Dr John Brereton
Royal Australian College of Surgeons Supervisor Dr Manu Mathur
Specialists Dr David Marshman


Dr Peter Brady

Dr John Brereton

Dr Manu Mathur

Dr Levi Bassin

Dr Michael Harden (HOD)

Fellows Yifei Huang (Provisional)
Department Secretary Samantha La Rosa
Data Manager Sharon Lum

Related Links

Contact Person

Samantha La Rosa